LifeStyle Interiors Blog

Design that makes a difference

Goals Junkie

I love New Year’s!  It’s truly one of my favorite times.  While I don’t typically do anything special to celebrate – no epic parties or bazaar traditions – I do like to take a few moments of serenity to gaze over the past year and dream about the one to come.  Like many, I’m not big on resolutions, but I am big on goals.  I love goals.  They inspire, drive and motivate me.  They challenge me to do better than I did before, to become more of who and what I want to be.  Generally I’m the type who doesn’t get much done without a goal.  It’s a double edged sword really…if I have a packed day full of meetings, errands, and tasks to accomplish I’m a powerhouse of productivity.  Put me in front of a day without any task list and I’m as lost as a bat with no ears.

Most New Years’ I sit down with some paper and jot a few ideas of what goals I can reach this upcoming year.  There’s the usual smatterings of races to run, vegetables to eat and places to visit.  But there’s also goals for my home.  Since a healthy environment is as important to me as a healthy body I make as much effort in making sure the goals for my home are healthy and well balanced as they are for myself.  After all, my home affects my body more than any other environment.

Here are a few goals that might suit you too!

Organize my paperwork!

This file box from Ballard Designs could be just what you need to stop the paper stampede.

This file box from Ballard Designs is perfect for stopping the paper stampede.

 

Give a room a facelift with a fresh coat of paint!

Natura Paint by Benjamin Moore - lowest VOC available and exceeds industry standards for environmental safety

Natura Paint by Benjamin Moore – lowest VOC available and exceeds industry standards for environmental safety

 

Improve indoor air quality!

Adding indoor plants can help filter out pollutants in your home.  Try Spider Plants, Aloe, Golden Pothos or even Gerber Daisies!  Just be sure to check out each ones pet friendly factor!

Adding indoor plants can help filter out pollutants in your home. Try Spider Plants, Aloe, Golden Pothos or even Gerber Daisies! Just be sure to check out each ones pet friendly factor!

 

Goals don’t have to be extravagant or expensive to make a big difference.  And often times, the smaller the steps, the more achievable the goal is.  Cheers to a great New Year filled with many wonderful goals (and achievements!!!)

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 3, 2013 by in Inspiration and tagged , , , , .
