LifeStyle Interiors Blog

Design that makes a difference

Herbly

 

I am not a great cook by any stretch of the imagination.  I can follow a recipe and that’s about as far as I go.  Since starting my vegan journey I have been doing A LOT more cooking at home.  It’s a great thing because I know that hubs and I are eating much healthier and not consuming the obnoxious volumes of processed foods and chemicals conveniently wrapped in delicious looking morsels.

One thing I’ve noticed since exploring new recipes is that many of them call for fresh herbs.  I like fresh herbs.  They’re pretty, tasty, delicious smelling, and add a lot to our food.  But buying fresh herbs is a giant pain.  Typically it goes something like this – I buy a fresh herb (or two or three) to add to a recipe and have to buy in the quantities available at the store (has anyone seen how much cilantro is in one bunch!?!?!?!?!).  I use what I can for my recipes and end up with so much left over that it goes bad before I can use it again!  How frustrating!!!

This has thrown me into full-fledged problem solving mode…I want an indoor herb garden.  There are so many fantastic ideas out there too!  It seems easy enough (despite my black-thumbed tendencies).  My space is limited so I want to be wise about how I use it.  I need to find something off the floor, probably wall mounted so my critters won’t eat them!  Here are some of the inspirations I’ve come across:

Garden boxes hung on the wall

This floating herb garden is FABULOUS!

This floating herb garden is FABULOUS!  This one is tough to find in America…but the concept is divine!

Shane Wall Planter by West Elm.  Love these...love the reclaimed wood wall too!

Shane Wall Planter by West Elm. Love these…love the reclaimed wood wall too!

I'm not a big ball jar person...but this concept is dynamite!

I’m not a big ball jar person…but this concept is dynamite!

I’m excited to get started…once I make up my mind!  Send me pics of your indoor herb garden!  You show me yours – I’ll show you mine!

 

4 comments on “Herbly

  1. Ann Porter, CKD
    February 6, 2013

    I was in a kitchen that had a living herb wall. It was beautiful but I disliked the dirt that would fall on the floor.

    • lifeinteriorsinspiration
      February 7, 2013

      Yes! That would be problematic! I would certainly want to make sure my containers contained the dirt well…though a few escapees are probably inevitable!

  2. shelley
    March 26, 2013

    a few ideas for not wasting the herbs:

    1. put in a juicer and juice them (I do a lot of juicing and love using the stem and everything!);
    2. store them in a jar of water in the fridge and they will last 2 or 3 weeks longer than just stored in a bag.
    3. make a smoothie and put the herbs in; if you add just a few you won’t really taste them but will get the vitamins and minerals.

    • lifeinteriorsinspiration
      March 28, 2013

      Great suggestions! I had no idea you could store them in water in the fridge like that! I will have to try!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 21, 2013 by in Inspiration, Projects and tagged , , , .
